What I’ve Learned so Far

The battle cry of the 1960’s was:  “Never trust anyone over 30.”  Ridiculous from my current vantage point.  I just turned 43, and my own personal mantra is to never trust anyone UNDER 30.  I feel as though I’ve finally done enough living to have actually learned something.  Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

 

  • I don’t always need to bring a sweater.
  • Worrying about it will not make it so – OR prevent it from happening!
  • Never turn down the opportunity to travel.
  • NO ONE knows what to say at a funeral.  But being there says it all.
  • Marriage doesn’t change who you are inside.
  • Slow down.  On the road.  At work.  And in life.
  • Clean as you go.
  • Start saving early.
  • Invest in a few quality pieces of furniture.
  • You really only need two sets of sheets – one on the bed, and one in the laundry.
  • If you learn to love reading, you’ll never be lonely.
  • Television IS a big waste of time.
  • Boyfriends matter.  I remember every single one.  Choose wisely.
  • Learn how to ski, skate, golf and play tennis while you’re young. 
  • Walk into every room with an air of confidence – even if you have to fake it.

I’m sure there are even more lessons to be learned.  I just can’t help but believe, that if I live the second half of my life following these few sound principles it will be a heck of a lot easier than the first 43 years!

 

One response to “What I’ve Learned so Far

  1. I don’t care what you say you’ve learned and now live by, I bet you still have more than 2 sets of sheets! haha

Leave a comment